Spring has sprung.

I love spring.  Have I told you that before?  I really do love it.  I love the sights, the smells, the sounds.  I love having the windows open and feeling the crisp breeze through my bedroom.  I even love the rain and the thunderstorms.  And, I am not a morning person, but I love waking up early to listen to the birds sing.

I don’t know why birds sing so loudly at dawn.  Maybe they aren’t even singing.  Maybe it is the mama birds crying that the night was too short.  Or the papa birds crying about feeding the young.  Or the baby birds just crying.  All I know, I love the sound of the birds announcing the new day.  I love hearing them sing as the first morning rays crawl across the earth and past my bedroom window.  It is like they are so happy to be the ones to let us know the promise we are given with each new morning.

To me, that is what spring is.  It is the beauty of the earth coming back to life.  After lying still under the weight of the winter snow, the earth is ready to spring back to life and share its beauty.  Each small bud emerging from the dirt is a promise from God that tomorrow will come, and He has given us a beautiful world to live in.

Dear God,
Thank you for all the natural beauty around us.  Forgive us when we take it for granted and abuse it.  Help us to remember the care you took in planning this beautiful home for us.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment