What are you thankful for?

Last Friday evening, we had our first snow of the season in Sun Prairie. It was a beautiful snow that stuck to the trees and covered everything in a light blanket of white. I woke in the middle of the night to watch it gently fall and see the crystals sparkle in the moonlight. There were some boys out throwing snowballs and laughing. I fell back asleep thinking about the beauty and joy I had experienced from my window.

When asked, I always say I prefer the cold to the heat. I say that I love the snow and that I don’t get cold. I don’t even own a real winter coat. Laying there that night I thought about how glad I was that winter had finally arrived. And then, I thought about those who had a different feeling about that evening. I started thinking about those who dread the cold and saw that night as the start of another long, cold winter.

I can say I don’t mind the cold, only because I don’t ever have to be cold. I don’t have to shovel the snow. I don’t have to work out in the elements. I don’t have to walk to work. I leave my house in a car that was parked in the garage all night and turn on my heated seats. I come home to a warm house and a bed covered in blankets. The extent of my time outside is the walk from my car to the mall to buy things I don’t really need, or the groceries I have no trouble paying for, or the church that welcomes me with open arms. I can say I don’t mind the cold, because I don’t really have to experience it.

I wish I knew how to help those who are really cold and hungry. Those who don’t have a home, or have to choose between buying food or heating their house. Struggling to find something to be thankful for. I really do wish I knew what to do. How best to help. Where to turn to make an impact on the world around me.

Dear God,
I am so thankful for all that I am lucky enough to have. I don’t know why I was lucky enough to be born into a good family, marry a man that can support me, have children that I love so much. I pray that I find a way to help those who are cold and hungry this winter. Please help me to share all that you have blessed me with.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you thankful for?

  1. I feel the same way -how can I help?
    Refreshing to hear your thots on winter. You are definitely an optimist! I think I am too.
    So glad you are part of Allison’s life! And mine!
    Jan Lavender

Leave a Reply

