Independence Day

I love watching fireworks. I think they are so beautiful and I’m amazed by the variety. However, watching them on July 4th is bittersweet for me.

If you have ever heard me tell our families cancer story, it begins on July 4th, 1999 (15 years ago tonight). We lived just outside Washington DC, and watched the fireworks display at the capital. It was an incredible experience. Just a few days later we were told that Ryan had cancer. That night was the final story in that chapter of our lives. July 8th we started the next chapter and life has been different ever since.

As I’ve said a million times, I miss Ryan more than I can explain. Nearly everything reminds me of him, and tonight was no exception.

Dear God,
All across the country Americans are celebrating our independence. We are remembering how lucky we are to have so much freedom. As we celebrate, help us to remember and pray for those who aren’t as fortunate, who live in fear of their government. May we all be able to enjoy freedom someday.
Thank you for all you give us. Thank you for my family and friends. And thank you for the memories I have of those I’ve lost.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

