A picture is worth a thousand words.

If you know me, you know that I often have my camera with me.  I have BOXES of pictures of my kids from the days before digital.  I have thousands of digital pictures on an exterior drive.  I love to take pictures of family, friends, vacation spots and of course all my flowers.  The sad thing is, I don’t like having picture of myself.  Today I read this blog post:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/teresa-s-porter/so-youre-feeling-too-fat-to-be-photographed_b_4351360.html

I can’t believe how this spoke to me.  I know that I will never be younger than I am today, and I think about how I looked 10 years ago when I didn’t think I look good enough for pictures.  Now I am ten years older, a few pounds heavier and quite a bit grayer.  Will I someday look back at today and wish I looked this young?  Will Mallory have enough pictures of me to share with her kids?  What am I waiting for?

So this summer, I won’t hide from the camera.  When we travel, I will make sure I am in the pictures too.  I hope you do the same.

Dear God,
I am sorry that I do not appreciate the shell that you gave me for this life.  I don’t always like what I see, but I don’t work to change the view.  Help me to be more thankful for what I have.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

