Things we can’t control.

 

Today started out like any other day.  Actually, most of the day was great.  I went to lunch with a friend and we worked on Relay for Life preparations, I went to a beautiful nursery and looked at flowers, I drove through the Wisconsin countryside on a picture perfect day, and then I worked in my garden.  I was enjoying the day and couldn’t imagine anything changing that.  Then I walked to the mailbox and got todays mail.  One simple piece of junk mail changed my mood.  We got a credit card application for Ryan, and just seeing his name was like a kick in the gut.  Darn you Discover Card.

“Because someone we love is in heaven, we feel heaven in our home.” — Author unknown

Ryan should be finishing his junior year of college.  We should be missing him because he is too busy for us.  We should be paying for his school and complaining about how expensive it is.  But, as we all know, life never goes as we plan.

So tonight I will say a little prayer for Ryan, as I always do.  I will probably shed a few tears, as I often do.  I will ask him to visit me in my dreams, just as I do every night as I fall asleep.   And I will thnk about the joy that he brought to our lives.  I will thank God for that time we had together and look forward to the day we are together again.

Dear God,
I have gotten very lazy about talking to you, and for that I am sorry.  Thank you for another beautiful day.  Thank you for the beauty in the flowers I enjoyed today, the smile of a friend and sound of a singing bird.  Especially tonight, I thank you again for my family.  I am lucky to know the love of a wonderful husband, the joy of 2 incredible children, and the support and love of my parents and siblings.  I wish tonight that everyone could be as fortunate as me.
Amen

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

