Can laughing extend our life?

I spent the day yesterday shopping with 2 dear friends and my wonderful daughter. I had a great day and was reminded yet again, how lucky I am. We laughed until we cried, until our sides hurt, and until people stared at us. As I thought back about the day, I was reminded of something I read online:

A study in Norway has shown that laughter can extend the lives of people. In the study, 54,000 Norwegians were followed for 7 years. These people were asked about their sense of humor and how often they laugh. Those that found the world the most funny were 35 percent less likely to die during the study period. If a person in the study was diagnosed with cancer, he or she was 70 times more likely to survive until the end of the study if laughter and humor is an important part of his or her life.

We have seen the benefits of having a positive attitude toward aging and smiling, laughter too seems to reduce stress and keep our bodies functioning well..

I have told you before that I love to laugh.  Our whole family does.  Apparently, so do our friends.  God created our bodies in a way that actually benefits from laughing.  And the best part about laughing — it is best when shared with other humans.  How wonderful is that?  We were created with the hopes that we would be happy, share laughter, and enjoy life.  We were created to share joy.

“If you have only one smile in you give it to the people you love.” ― Maya Angelou

So today, I hope you find a reason to laugh.  I hope that you have others around you to share joy.  And if you don’t, I hope you know that I am here to listen and help.  And so is loving God.

Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

