Are you happy?

For the last few weeks, I have been hibernating.   I always struggle with this time of year.  Even before we lost Ryan (Feb 19, 2009), I would spend this time of year in a funk.  The long nights and cold days leave me feeling blue and dreaming of warmer weather.  But this morning I woke up with a feeling of a new beginning.  The sun was shining in the windows and I felt the ice starting to melt in my soul.

Of course we still have a lot of winter left here in Wisconsin.  In fact we are expecting another record breaking cold snap later this week.  But, I can feel spring coming.  I can feel the days getting longer.  My calendar shows a womans retreat this weekend, Ash Wednesday in a couple weeks, and a Lenten bible study starting just after that.  All of those things that tell me that Easter is soon to foll0w, and warm weather will be here in the blink of an eye.

When I turned on Facebook today, the first thing I saw was the video (thank you Rev. Susan Bresser):

http://24hoursofhappy.com/

As soon as I started watching it, I decided that today I would be happy.  I started singing and dancing, and I felt the blanket of winter falling off my shoulders.

So today, I challenge you to sing and dance.  I challenge you to find the spring that is hiding deep in your soul.  I challenge you to decide to be happy.

Amen

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

