What is today?

A couple weeks ago I saw a calendar with all the holidays listed for every day of the year. For today, there were some pretty bizarre ones like:

Liberace Day!
National Create A Vacuum Day!
National Homemade Soup Day!
National Stuffed Mushroom Day!
Quacker Day! (What does that even mean?)

But there were also some good ones:

Thank a Mailman Day!
USO Day!
African American Coaches Day!

My favorite for today though, is:

Today is World Cancer Day!

A post I read on Facebook summed it up best: It’s not about wristbands, ribbons, body parts, colors, contests or territoriality. It’s about celebrating life and the incredibly inspiring stories and journeys that make the cause ever so more empirically important.

For me, it is about remembering Ryan and everyone else that we have lost to this terrible disease. Today I will continue my February goal of sharing random acts of kindness. I will celebrate life. I will take a minute or two to think about those we have lost and those who are continuing to fight. I will once again pray for a cure.

Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

