Life is fragile.

Tomorrow I am flying out to Washington, DC to visit some friends.  I am very excited to see my friends, but I am not very thrilled about flying.  When I was young, I thought flying was exciting; but the older I get, the less I enjoy it.   Like Ryan used to say:

“I am not afraid of flying, I am afraid of crashing.”

I travel a bit, and fly a couple time a year.  My head knows that it is safer  to fly than drive, but I still get nervous with every takeoff and landing.  Each  little bump and my heart skips a beat.  Turbulence takes my breath away.   As we taxi for takeoff, I usually start my prayers.  Some trips, they don’t end until I fall asleep or until we land.

I am very lucky to be able to go to the places we go to.  I appreciate the trips I get to take, and have been to some great beautiful and exciting destinations.  And I am glad that I don’t always have to drive for days to get there.  I just wish I could relax a little more during the flight.  I guess the older I get, the more I realize how fragile life is and how easily it can change.  I guess I am not the only one:

The older you get, the more fragile you understand life to be. I think that’s good motivation for getting out of bed joyfully each day. – Julia Roberts

So tonight, I am going to ask God to continue to keep me safe.  And I am going to thank him for my wonderful life.  I hope you are able to do the same.

Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

