How old do you feel?

“How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” ― Satchel Paige

Today I got my hair done.  I had gone quite awhile without coloring it, but looked in the mirror the other day and didn’t like what I saw.  My head was covered in grey hair.  Although I don’t feel like I have gotten older, time has passed and my body is aging.  And I suddenly look like an old lady.  So, I did what any middle aged woman in my situation does, I turned back the clock with some dye.

I don’t spend a lot of time looking in the mirror each day.  I don’t like to wear makeup, so after brushing my hair in the morning, I usually only get a passing glimpse when I wash my hands.  And to be honest, I am usually off in my mind somewhere, so I don’t really take time to look.  I really am not concerned with how I look most of the time.  But, when I saw an older woman looking back at me the other day, it really took my breath away.

Where did the time go?  How can I look so much older than I feel?  Is aging a curse or a blessing?

I have told you before how amazed I am when I think about how fast time flies.  I feel like I blink and years are gone.  My classmate are already planning our 35th high school reunion.  Of course I have grey hair.  Of course I look middle aged.  Because I am.  I just don’t feel like it.  But I will never complain about getting old, it is a gift not a right.

Today, I changed my appearance.  By covering my grey hair, I felt that my outside better matched my inside.  I am not trying to hide who I am.  I am not afraid to tell the world that I am 51 years old.  There are too many people that haven’t had the privilege of reaching this age, so I will continue to thank God for the gift of each day.

Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

