What would you do if you could do anything?

If you know me very well, you know that I don’t like to clean. I am not one of those people who finds joy in the work involved in cleaning, dusting, vacuuming, and straightening. I don’t like spending my time doing chores around the house. There are often times that I look at a mess and wish I was one of those TV women that can make the job magically disappear.

If I could only blink my eyes, pull my earlobe or twitch my nose, and make my chores finish themselves. I just want that one room to be clean. And then, maybe clean the basement storage area. And then maybe it would be nice to see what it was like to have the entire house arranged. Or maybe perfect. And what about the yard? Ok, maybe I could just have everything within our lot-lines be perfect. Of course I shouldn’t forget my friends and neighbors. And my family deserves the same. Am I being petty? Are there better things to do with my newfound super powers?

Suddenly my list sounds like a speech from The Miss America pageant. I could create world peace, end poverty and hunger, cure diseases. Once the world is how I think it should be, what would I do next? Would the world appreciate the perfection I have created? Would the human race finally be happy? What would we do next?

I guess it is only dreaming, or wishful thinking. No matter how often I blink, twitch or wiggle, the house is still a mess. I guess I will accept the world God gave us and stop dreaming about ways to get out of my chores. I guess, tomorrow morning I will look at my house with appreciation and start cleaning. And I will thank God for the house, the mess, and the abilities that I do have.

Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

