Why?

I told you yesterday that I don’t believe in coincidences.  Things happen all the time that we try to explain away.  Something that we can’t interpret.  A situation that just feels like there is just has to be more than meets the eye.  A situation that feels like it has God’s fingerprints on it.  This morning was another example of a “God moment”.

I was headed out the door this morning, and just couldn’t get going.  I couldn’t find my shoes or my sun glasses.  I got in the car, but sat there feeling like I shouldn’t leave yet.  After a few seconds, the feeling passed, and I went on my way.

There was a little snow on the ground and it was slippery, but not bad.  I got to an intersection just blocks from my house and had a green light.  Just as I approached, a car blew through the red light, and started spinning when she hit her brakes.  She spun several times and was then headed straight for me.  She missed me by inches.  I really don’t know how.  We were close enough that I could see the fear in her eyes.  If I had been just 5 seconds ahead of myself, there would have been a very different outcome.

I am sure that many people would call it a coincidence.  I just can’t help but feel that an angel slowed me down, to avoid something bad.  I am not saying that God chose to save me (and her, and the woman and children in the car behind me) when there are so many that suffer.  I am not saying that I am special.  I just have to wonder how often we are all spared without even knowing.  I wonder if we will ever really understand what happens to us on this earth.

Dear God,
Thank you for all you do for us, when we don’t deserve your love. Thank you for giving us those moments when we can see you reach through to our world. May we all feel you protection, your love, and your guidance in our every day.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

