Where do we find comfort?

Hello again.  I have been going crazy fighting with my computer for the last week.  I  haven’t been able to get on the internet, and it is driving me nuts.  I am not a very patient person, so I decided to take it on the road.  I am Starbucks, enjoying a Carmel Macchiato,  watching people come and go, listening to all the sights and sounds of a very busy place.  This will be a challenge for me.  I love to people watch, I am easily distracted, there is a lot of activity, and I am having espresso…  We will see what kind of writing will come from this dangerous combination.

I read a blog today that really spoke to me (I have never posted a link in this blog, so I hope it works):

God will give you more than you can handle.

Anyone who has gone through a traumatic event can probably relate to what the writer was talking about.  I have so many times when I have wondered:

“Why me?” “Why is God doing this?” “What am I supposed to do?” “Is this really God’s plan?”

Now I know that I am not the only one that feels weak when I shouldn’t.  I am not the only one that questions Him.  I am not alone, when so often I feel that way.  None of us really know God’s “plan”, we all just take our best guess.  We each find comfort in finding God where we want Him to be, and make peace in the God that we are most comfortable with.  The good news is, I think that is what He wants from me.  I think He is happy if we are looking for him at all.  I think that He is happy when we are just willing to search for Him and trust in what we find.  I think if we are open to listening for his voice, reaching for his hand, and asking for his help, we will find the God that He wants us to find.

God made us smart enough to question existence, just not smart enough to actually prove it.  That is where we lean on our faith.

Dear Holy and Loving God,
I continue to search for you in this world. I strive to please you, by serving others. I try to listen for your ever present guidance. Please forgive me when I fall short. Thank you for not giving up on me.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

