Is it spring yet?

Three days without internet on my computer, outside temps are pushing 20 below zero, work and schools closed… I am ready for spring. And I am someone who actually likes winter. I am just starting to get a little stir crazy. When I finally get back on Facebook, this is one of the first things I read, a quote from an elderly woman who is legally blind and recently widowed:

“Remember the five simple rules to be happy:
1. Free your heart from hatred.
2. Free your mind from worries.
3. Live simply.
4. Give more.
5. Expect less”

Ok, so maybe I needed to be reminded of how simple happiness can be.  And then I started thinking about the last couple days, and I am not stir crazy any more.  In fact, I am glad that we will be stuck in the house one more day before the temps start to rebound a little (above zero).

I love my family.  And I am so lucky that I have people that love me too.  Mallory and I have been fighting a cold, so we spent most of the day in bed, watching old TV shows.  We laughed at the same stupid lines, shared some of our favorite snacks, and talked heart-to-heart about life.   She is an amazing person, and the perfect mix of Kirby and I (although she does like to get the last word — something she definitely got from her dad!).  I see such promise in her future, and I look forward to watching her life continue to unfold.

So today, I challenge you to sit back and really take a look at the good in your life.  It isn’t always easy to find, but I pray that you have something and someone that makes you happy.  I pray that you can find warmth in the love of Jesus during these cold days.  And I pray that you know I am praying for you.

Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

