Resolutions anyone?

I am not one for New Years resolutions. I used to do them every year, and then set myself for disappointment. I would vow to give up a bad habit, start a good one. Exercise more, eat better, lose weight. I would plan to cook more and eat out less, be better organized and keep the house cleaner. I would try and then get discouraged and give up. Leaving me feeling worse than when I started. So I quit making resolutions.

So now I start each new year, with the same ambition I start each day; I try to find a way to make the world better than I found it. My goal with each new year, and with each new day, is just to be the best me I can be. The person I am has taken 51 years to create, so waking up on Jan. 1st planning some big change just doesn’t work for me. I will just continue to do my best, and try to be happy with the person I see in the mirror. And when I fall short of my best, I will ask God to forgive me and try again. God forgives me, so I will learn to forgive myself.

Today, and this year, I hope that you try to be the best you. I hope that you are happy with who you see in your mirror. And I hope you remember to talk to God about it all.

Dear God,
Thank you for another New Year. Thank you encouraging us, loving us and forgiving us.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

