The light does return.

You do build in darkness if you have faith. But one day the light returns and you discover that you have become a fortress which is impregnable to certain kinds of trouble; you may even find yourself needed and sought by others as a beacon in their dark. Olga Rosmanith

I have had some darkness in my life.  I have had days that I thought I might not survive and days that I didn’t want to get out of bed.  I never thought that those days, those troubles, that pain, was making me stronger.  I never believed that “what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger.”  While I was suffering through the pain, I hated hearing those type of things.

I am approaching the 5th anniversary of the worst day of my life.  I still have days that are overcast and sad.  Fortunately I have many more days that are full of sunshine and blue skies.  I used to think that I was a very weak person, but time has shown that I am stronger than I thought.  I have learned how to lean on God and how to use my experiences to help others.  I have learned to reach out to others and ask for help.  I have learned how to survive.

I spent time today with a friend who suffered a loss earlier this year.  When we first met, she was drowning in grief.  Today, we had a wonderful visit and were able to share the joy of the Christmas season.  To hear her talk about happiness in her life, warmed my heart beyond belief.  She is finding her way out of that overwhelming, painful fog caused by grief.  She is finding beauty in the world again.   I have enjoyed getting to know her and I hope that she is getting as much from our friendship as I.

If you or someone you know is in great pain, I pray for peace.  I also hope that you know I am here to listen and to help.  God wants us to enjoy life.  He wants us to be happy.  And when life is difficult, He wants us to lean on each other.  By helping each other, we honor God.

Dear God,
Life is sometimes a difficult ride.  Thank you for helping us through the tough times by providing us with the ability to reach out to others. Thank you for your love. And during this beautiful season, as we celebrate the birth of your son, help us to remember that there are some people around us who are struggling to find joy.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

