What a day….

What a day. In fact, I will say it again – What a day! I thought I knew what I was going to write about today when I got up this morning. That is the way it usually works. I think of a topic and let it simmer in the back of my mind while I go about my routine. Then when I think it is worth sharing, I put it in writing. Then my day happened. And I changed my mind. In case you missed it, what a day.

If you haven’t guessed, I have had a rotten day. Stupid stuff just kept happening to me. Some my fault and some not. I had a person hit my car and run. I had a guy pull in front of me that I almost hit. A man almost rear ended me, then chased me down to yell at me, make wonderfully friendly gestures and then drive off honking. I saw a man screaming obscenities at a stranger in the grocery store parking lot, over a parking space. Yeah, it was one of those days. Fortunately my car, my person and my patience are all safe and sound at home now. I think I will stay in tonight.

Have you ever had a day like that? A day where everything you touch falls apart. Everything you say comes out wrong. Everything you do ends in disaster. A day that you just can’t wait to put to bed.

Fortunately, those days are few and far between. Most days, I must admit, are pretty good for me. I wish I could say that was the same for everyone. I know there are people who would tell me that a scratched fender and a bruised ego are all part of life. There are those who would be happy if those were the worst things in their day.  As I have told you before:

If that is the worse thing that happens to me, its a pretty good day.

And so, I will put on my pj’s, poor a cup of coffee and read a book. I will thank God for giving me another reasonably safe day, and for protecting me from much worse that could have happened. I will pray that those men I saw screaming and gesturing will find peace tonight. I will light a fire in the fireplace and relax.

Second thought, maybe a fire isn’t such a good idea tonight…

Dear Father,
Thank you for all the blessings in my life. Thank you for guiding through my day, protecting me from harm and forgiving me when I say or do the wrong thing. I ask that you help those who are having struggles today and poor peace over their lives.
Thank you for all those things that we take for granted.
In your ever loving name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

