What does it mean to be human?

As I have told you before, I love to people watch. Whether I am at the mall, the pool or an airport, I love to watch humanity as it just exists. It amazes me that each person begins as a single little cell that has all the information it needs to create an entire human being. That one cell has the ability to create us with our similarities and our differences. We are each (ideally) given 10 fingers, 10 toes, male parts or female parts, heart, brain and all those other things that make us human. We are also each given different eye colors, hair color, height, personalities and all those things that make us unique. And then there are those single cells that split and create 2 people that are even more alike and still have unique characteristics.

Absolutely amazing.

I have always wondered what it would be like to have a twin. What traits we would share and where we would differ. To have someone besides my husband that knew me that well. To see an image of myself in another human.

I wonder if I would still be the same person I am today?

I have been told that there is a woman in Madison to which I bare a striking resemblance. I have approached by strangers who call me Janet, several times in the last 10 years. I now know to tell them that I am not who they think I am pretty quickly. I have to admit that the first couple times it took me off guard and I didn’t know what to say. I really hope that I get to meet my twin someday.

Dear God,
Thank you for making us in your image, with all our similarities and all our differences. Help us to learn to appreciate both in the people we meet. Forgive us when we judge people simple by their appearance and help us to value each person for their unique attributes.
In the name of your Son, who loved us enough to die for us.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

