What is a good parent?

Yesterday at my morning bible study, we were talking about parenting. More specifically, good parenting and parenting abilities and responsibilities.

You need training and education for almost everything; a new job, to drive a car, to use your phone. You are interviewed before you join any organization, you are offered training before you take your new computer home, you can’t even rent a car until your 25.

But anyone can have a baby.

I know that we try to offer support for new parents and there are safeguards to try to protect kids, but there are still so many that slip through the cracks. And it happens everywhere. Recently, a 5 year old that lived just blocks from us died from suspected child abuse. Everyday we see unfit parents with small children. But what do we do?

Quite a few years ago, I was in line at the grocery store and there was a young couple in line behind me. They were young and had what I guess was an approximately 3 year old boy. I smiled and waved to the little boy, who obviously wasn’t amused by me. He made a terrible face at me and then gave me an obscene gesture. I thought they would do something about it, but instead just laughed about it. I was appalled. To this day, I wonder what happened to that little boy. He would be in his 20’s now, and I wonder where he is. I pray that someone came along and taught him respect and proper behavior. I pray that his life was influenced by someone with a love for God.

So tonight, I am praying for all those parents out there who don’t know what they are doing. I am praying that all children are in a loving home with parents who can teach them how to be children of God.

Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

