Thank you, dear friends.

Today I woke up thinking about my friends. I have been thinking about what it means to be a friend and wondering if I have done everything I can to be a good friend to others.

“How many slams in an old screen door? Depends how loud you shut it.
How many slices in a bread? Depends how thin you cut it.
How much good inside a day? Depends how good you live ’em.
How much love inside a friend? Depends how much you give ’em.”
― Shel Silverstein

I have been lucky enough to have had many friends in my life.  I have had friends who have stuck around through tragedy as easily as the joy.  They have dropped everything to hold my hand and wipe my tears.  They have loved me when I wasn’t able to find love in myself.  They have picked me up, dusted me off and helped me take my next step.  I know I have been very lucky.

Not everyone is lucky enough to have such wonderful friends.  There are people I have met that don’t understand what it really means to be a friend.  They aren’t able to put another persons needs before their own.  They are stuck being their own best friend.  They aren’t lucky enough to understand that by putting themselves out there, they receive 1000% return.  Investing in others will always give a guaranteed return.

Today I pray that each of you is lucky enough to know true friendship.  If you have a friendship that needs repair, I pray you find the strength and words to fix it.  If you have a friend that has let you down, I pray they find their way back to you.  And if you have a friend who hasn’t heard how much they mean to you, I pray you let them know how much they mean to you.

Dear God,
You have shown us how to love unconditionally. If we follow your lead, if we love as you have taught us, we can be a friend that will be loved in return. Help us to be your arms, hands and heart here on earth.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank you, dear friends.

  1. Pingback: Dear Friend (poem) | A tale of a t-rex

Leave a Reply

