What is love?

Have you noticed how many ads there are on TV for dating services? There is a service for Christians, for farmers, for people over 50. It seems like everyone is looking for an easy way to find that perfect mate. All you have to do is answer enough questions about yourself and the computer will find that one person that you should spend the rest of your life with. Does it really work that way? Can a computer really find our perfect match?

Is love just an equation?

This fall, Kirby and I celebrated our 28th anniversary. I can’t say that every day has been perfect, or that we haven’t had our struggles, but I can say that we have stayed together through thick and thin. We have honored our vows, and persevered. I know there have been times that each of us has wanted to pack it in, or send the other packing, yet we are still together. I know we are lucky to have found each other. I thank God every day for bringing Kirby into my world.

Since I have been married so long, it is hard for me to relate to people who are still looking for that perfect mate. I try to remember what dating was like, it just seems like it was a lifetime ago. I do remember that dating was never easy. Spending time with someone you hardly know, trying to find things to talk about, struggling for common ground. I also remember the fun in that though. The excitement of the first date, the first kiss. All those “How do I look” butterflies. The “Will he like me” fears. And then the all too common “It just isn’t going to work out.” I had my heart broken more times than I can count, and along the way I may have broken a heart or two. Through it all, there is very little of it I would change if I could. Those experiences, the good and the bad, made me who I am today. It made me a mother who wants her daughter to find true love, a wife who is willing to stay through the tough times, and a woman who is very thankful for a wonderful life.

Dear God,
All too often I take my life for granted.  Thank you for a wonderful life, a wonderful husband, and wonderful children.  Thank you for giving me so much more than I deserve.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

