Today is a gift.

“The clock is running. Make the most of today. Time waits for no man. Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift. That’s why it is called the present.”

I woke up this morning with a cold. Sore throat, earache, stuffy head. I have the whole package to enjoy while I am visiting my mom.  I feel yucky and I am the biggest baby when I am sick.  I want to curl up in a ball and feel sorry for myself.  And, I want everyone else to feel sorry for me too.  Then I saw that quote and wondered

How do I make the most of a day when I feel so crappy?

So here I sit, watching Iowa State football and chatting with my mom.  We aren’t doing anything special.  We don’t need to go anywhere.  We are just sharing stories, pretending to be interested in the game, and just enjoying some time together.  I don’t spend as much time with my family as I wish I could, so today is a gift.  Sometimes it is the little things in life that we need to remember to appreciate.

So today, I am going to take some cold medicine and try to breathe.  I am going to thank God for a quiet day.  And I hope you find time to enjoy some quiet time too.

Dear God,
Sometimes we forget to slow down and appreciate the little things in life.  Thank you for the beautiful fall day outside my window.  Thank you for friends and family.  And especially today, thank you for cold medicine.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

