Can they tell you’re a Christian?

I was once asked:

If a stranger entered your house, would they know you are a Christian?

I went home and took a look around. By our front door is a picture with The Lords Prayer on it. In the front hallway is a stained glass with the verse “I am the vine, you are the branches.” As you leave through the front door, a sign that says “Faith is not believing that God can, its knowing that He will.” Throughout our house, there are decorative crosses and angels. So yes, I think that people who enter our house can see that we are Christians. But what about my heart and my soul?

If someone could see the real me, the me that resides in my heart and soul, would they know I am a Christian?

I am not as confident about that answer. I try to live a life of a person of faith. I try to remember that even when no one else is watching, I still need to live a good life. But, I can’t say that I would want to have every thought I have and every action, printed here for the whole world to read. I have said and done things I am not proud of. Like everyone, I am imperfect and God is still working on me.

So for today, I will breathe (my one word). I will breathe in God and ask him to redecorate my soul.

Dear God,
I know that you see all those things about me that no one else knows. Please forgive me for not always living up to the person that you know I can be. Thank you for continuing to guide me toward a life of better person. Thank you for being so patient with me. Thank you for loving me.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

