My one word. Again.

I told you last week about the women’s study group I belong to, and the book we are reading titled “My One Word”. The premise is to pick a single word to center your life around for the next year. Interesting concept, but it has been quite a challenge for me. I love words too much to find just a single word. But I did it, now I am just going to see why God thought my word should be breathe.

I wanted a word that was very simple and very common. What is more simple to do then breathe? We do it all the time, most of the time without even thinking about it. If we see someone unconscious, the first thing we do is see if they are breathing. It is one of the things that we can’t live without. It is at the core of what makes us live.

I wanted a word that is an action. Again, we are constantly breathing. If you are upset, you are told to take a deep breath. If you are in pain, you are told to control your breathing and think about each breath. When the kids were little and couldn’t go to sleep, I would talk them through slow breathing. By controlling our breathing, we can alleviate pain, stress, nausea and fear. Concentrating on breathing is a great way to refocus.

I wanted a word that connected me with the word of God. I wanted to be reminded with each breath that I am only here because of the Father who created me, and gave me life.

Job 33:4 “The Spirit of God has made me, And the breath of the Almighty gives me life.

So, my word is Breathe. Every day for the next 365, I will concentrate on the breath of God. When I think about my breathing, I will think about my faith journey. I will breathe when I am stressed, and thank God for the abundance that sometimes overwhelms me. I will breathe when I am sad, and remember that God loves me and Christ died for me. I will breathe when I am happy, and thank God for my wonderful life. I will breathe as I praise him, through prayer, song and action. Mostly, I will breathe.

Dearest God,
Thank you for the gift of life. Thank you for each breath.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My one word. Again.

  1. Pingback: A thought and a prayer.

Leave a Reply

