What scares you?

Humans are a strange bunch, aren’t we? Last night I went to a corn maze with the confirmation class, and I was amazed at the number of people there just to get scared. I listened to people scream and then laugh, watched girls hide behind boys in fear of what they might see, and I held on to two kids like I was in mortal danger. I only went to be a chaperone. I do not like haunted houses (or mazes in this case). I would not have sought out the occasion to be that scared.

In the end, there was nothing to be afraid of. The only time I was honestly frightened, it was the boys in our group trying to scare us. We didn’t find any zombies, we weren’t carried away into the corn by some creature of the night, and there were no ghosts or goblins hiding among the stalks. There were just other scared people and some obnoxious (but funny) high school boys. The entire time we were in the maze, I knew that was the case. But I still held tight to two of the kids in the group, I was protecting them.

Why do we find pleasure in such torture? Why do we pay money to watch horror movies, stumble our way through corn mazes, or venture through haunted houses? Why do we seek out things that scare us, even though we know they aren’t real? Isn’t life scary enough?

But maybe that is the whole point. Maybe finding scary things that aren’t real are the way we escape from the reality of a frightening world. If we can overcome our fear of the fake stuff, maybe we won’t be so scared of reality. By standing up to ghosts, goblins, vampires and zombies we might find the strength we need the next time the devil comes knocking on our door. If we are afraid of the future, we find safe things to fight in the present.

Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God. Corrie Ten Boom

So today, I will try to forget about the corn maze. I will try to let go of my fear.

Dear God,
Thank you for being someone we can always trust in. Thank you for being there to lean on, to confide in, to trust and to rely on. Thank you for giving us your Son, so that we can know the possibility of a fearless future.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What scares you?

  1. Bonnie Elmquist says:

    Amy, I’m impressed! I love your blog and am very glad Deb shared the link with us. Have you thought about writing a book? Possibly taking your blogs and putting them into a “30 Days with Amy?” I aspire to write, also. First, I’m going to write about my journey with cancer, which I post on Facebook and in emails to friends each week. And, if that shows some interest, well, then I’ll think about what’s next. Keep on sharing your wisdom, your free-style writing and your faith with us.
    Bonnie Elmquist

Leave a Reply

