Simply thanks.

Is it really Thursday again? Where did another week go? Time for another day of thankfulness.

Yesterday I delivered meals on wheels again. I visited a woman who is barely able to get out of her chair. She doesn’t come to the door, she just yells for me to come in. Her bed is in the living room, which is apparently where she spends her entire life. Her house is dirty and her only company is a couple cats. And yet, she always greets me with a smile. She always thanks me for bringing her meal. She always seems happy.

Life is what we make it. I have read that some of the happiest people in the world are those who have the least. Areas of the world that are poverty stricken and overcrowded, where there isn’t even running water, there are people with joy in their hearts. Things we take for granted are things they have never even enjoyed.

So today I am thankful for all the simple things in life. The things like a cool glass of water, a warm cup of coffee, a fire in the fireplace, and my dog by my side. I am thankful for the sunshine, the rain and the snow. I am thankful for a warm bath, a chocolate chip cookie and music on the radio. Today I am thankful for all those things I take for granted, that I forget to be thankful for. Today I am simply thankful to be alive. I hope you can say the same.

Dear God,
I live such a full and abundant life, and yet I always want for more. Thank you for all those simple things that I tend to overlook and take for granted.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simply thanks.

  1. Pingback: Thankful Thursday | Writing Canvas

Leave a Reply

