How did we get here?

Have I told you that I enjoy doing genealogy? I got interested many years ago, but my search became much easier with the invention of the internet. It is like having access to the research of so many others, right at the tip of my fingers. I have been able to trace back through several generations of 3 of my 4 grandparents ancestors. I love reading about where they lived, what they did, and what life was like for them. I always think about how decisions they made, generations ago, had an impact on my life today.

Someone’s sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago.Warren Buffett

When our family moved to Sun Prairie, our entire neighborhood was pretty young. The houses were less than a year old, and the yards had very few trees. Happily now, we knew to plant then. Each of the first few summers, we planted trees. So did some of our neighbors. Now we have beautiful fall colors throughout our yard. It took several years to be able to enjoy their shade, but now it is there. We are able reap the benefits of what we did in the past.

Do you ever think about how today will influence your tomorrow? Or how it can influence even generations to come? There are so many things we do without thinking what will be the consequences, and then there are those things we do with full knowledge and hope for a better and brighter future. If not for ourselves, for those we love and for those that we may not ever get to meet.

Today I am thankful for all the sacrifices that my ancestors made that made my life possible. I have read stories of hardship, pain, loss and fear. I have read what they did and what they gave up, in hopes of a better life for their descendants. What they did for me.

Dear God,
We all live with the knowledge of an unsure future. Help us to think of others and how decisions we make have an impact on the world today and life tomorrow. I look forward to the day when I meet all those wonderful people who made sacrifices in their life to make my life possible. I hope that I make them proud in the way I live.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

