What is happiness?

Do you know anyone who is suffering from a mental illness?

That sentence usually brings to mind people with schizophrenia, OCD or posttraumatic stress disorder. We think of people that have a mental condition that is apparent in the physical being. We see their struggle, so we sympathize with their condition.

But what about those people who suffer with those silent and invisible problems? What about those millions of people who suffer from depression and anxiety disorders? Did you know that nearly 7% of adult Americans suffer from clinical depression? Millions of people with a medical condition that they are ashamed of, or afraid to share with others. Unable to explain how they feel to those who have never had to experience the incredible loneliness. Unable to explain that they are more than just sad. Unable to just “snap out of it.”

In light of heaven, the worst suffering on earth, a life full of the most atrocious tortures on earth, will be seen to be no more serious than one night in an inconvenient hotel. Mother Teresa

Today, I am asking for prayers for all those people. I am asking that if you know someone who is suffering, I hope you try to understand their view of the world. I pray that if you are suffering, you find someone to talk to, to help you, and to love you. I pray you find peace and see some beauty in today. I hope you feel God’s love.

Dear God,
There are so many suffering from mental illnesses. Today, I just ask that they could find peace. I ask that they feel your love, your grace, and your comfort. I pray that they have people around them that are understanding, patient and loving.
In your loving name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is happiness?

  1. Sherry Otto says:

    Thank you for praying for people suffering from mental illness, and for the people that surround them. Thank you for praying that they are understanding, loving and patient !! My husband suffers from mental illness, and specifically from OCD. I love that you pray for them to find some beauty in a day, because OCD is a thief that robs them of this joy. And I need prayers that God will give me the understanding, love and patience I need every day. Thank you Amy !! And I love reading your Blog ! I want to read every one—don’t want to stop! But I guess i have to get up now and do other stuff. Look forward to getting back to them soon (like next hour-I wish !!) You definitely have the gift of writing. If you wrote a book, I wouldn’t be able to put it down ! see you Fri. (Nov. 1). I don’t have a word either, or if I do, it can change daily. Thanks again, Amy !

Leave a Reply

