October 19, 1985

Do you know where you were 28 years ago today? In Des Moines, it was a cool crisp fall day. Nintendo had just released it’s entertainment center. 1 gallon of gas was $1.09, movie tickets were $2.75, US Postage Stamp was 22 cents, and bacon cost $1.65 per pound.
Around the state, the Cyclones and the Hawkeyes were both playing big games.

And at 7:00 pm, Kirby and I got married.

Our friends thought it would never last. Looking back, we were pretty young, we both have a stubborn side, we like different styles of music and neither of us had very good jobs. I was terrible with money, and we were both pretty spoiled. But we were in love. We wanted to start a new life together. We had similar hopes and dreams. We both wanted kids. And we both had a strong faith in God.

I can’t say that the last 28 years have been all sunshine and rainbows. There have been times when we have each considered walking away. There have been horrible days that we were lucky to have each other to lean on. There has been pain, tears, arguments and broken hearts. But there has also been more laughter, joy and happiness than I ever thought possible. There has been 2 incredible kids brought into our lives. There has been so much joy, I thought my heart would burst. And through it all, the good and the bad, the joy and the pain, the laughter and the tears, there has been God.

I am so thankful today that God brought Kirby into my life. I am so glad that Kirby has put up with me and all my weirdness for the last 28 years. I am so very thankful that the 2 of us became a family. And I am most thankful that we will be a family again, when we all join Ryan in Heaven.

Dear God,
Thank you for the joy of family. Thank you for helping to find a person to share my life with. Today I pray that everyone could be just as lucky. I pray that everyone could find someone to share their life with. I pray that everyone could find this kind of happiness.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

