Where was my siesta?

Did I say that today is a day in paradise? Looking out the window, I hope this isn’t what paradise looks like. The bleak and gray day of October has me looking forward to spring again. I didn’t sleep well last night, so my mood isn’t exactly what I had hoped for today…

Isn’t sleep a funny thing? I think I have talked about it before, but since it eluded me last night I will say it again. You can’t force yourself to sleep. In fact, the harder I tried to go to sleep, the farther away the sandman strolled. I counted sheep, I watched TV, I read; and still I lay there awake. My body was tired, my eyes were exhausted, my mind was even willing to let go. And still no sleep.

Today, my mind is foggy. My eyes are dry. My body wants to take a nap. Today, I could sleep. But then I would be like a newborn with my days and nights mixed up, and I would lie awake again all night tonight. We were created to require rest on a daily basis. We can’t survive without it. And as hard as some people may try to avoid sleep, our bodies will take over when it decides it needs a break. I am not one of those people, I actually look forward to climbing into a cozy bed every night.

Tonight, I hope sleep will find me. I hope I find rest.

Dear God,
I am so grateful for the way you created us. You knew that if we could survive without sleep, there would people who would never rest. But you of course knew what would be best for us. You knew what you wanted for us, and we know that you never make mistakes. Thank you.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

