What is love?

Do you believe in love at first sight? Do you believe that in a first glance, you can fall totally in love with a person and know that they will be a part of your life forever? I do. I do because it happened to me. At 2:01 pm on October 8, 1989. That was the first time I saw my daughter Mallory, and I knew instantly that I was in love. I took one look at her fat little face, scrunched up and crying, and I was hooked. I was a mom.

God gave us a great gift when he decided to give us the ability to love. He allowed us to feel an emotion unlike any other. I have heard that real love is “like having your heart walk around outside your body.” And it is. When you love someone, they are more important to you than anything else. I would give my life for those people that I love. No pain would be too great, no task too difficult, no price too high. Those that I love are what I live for, and I love them all.

That is another amazing thing about love, there is an endless supply. God didn’t tell us that we could only love 3, 30 or 300 people. He didn’t say we only get “this much” love, use it wisely, when it is gone it is gone. He gave us an endless supply so that we can love totally and completely. In fact, in the Bible, the word is love is mentioned more than 500 times close to 700 times depending on which version of it you are reading. In the King James Version, it’s mentioned 508 in the old testament and 697 in the new testament.

John 13:34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another

So today is all about love. I hope that you know love. I hope that you love and are loved. And I hope that you remember to thank God for that incredible gift. I know that every time I look at Mallory today, I will.

Dear God,
Thank you for making me a mom. Thank you for the gifts you have given me. You loved us so much that you gave us your Son. We are forever grateful.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

