I hope you all have a Mallory in your life.

Last year I was part of a woman’s study group that read the book “Be The Miracle”. The first sentence of the first chapter is:

There’s an old saying: “If you think you’re too small to make a difference, you’ve never been in a tent with a mosquito.”

What a great way to make that point. If you are like me, one of my first questions for God will be: “What was the purpose of the mosquito?” I must be made of sugar, because those tiny little creatures feast on me from the last freeze of spring to the first freeze of fall. They come from miles away to chase me down. They tell all their friends how sweet my blood is. They have an impact on my entire summer. Just a tiny little bug, that can’t hurt a fly, can make my arms flail and keep me awake all night. That tiny bug can make a big difference. So you can too.

The perfect example of tiny making a difference is my daughter, Mallory. If you aren’t lucky enough to know her, I feel sorry for you. She is a 23 year old college student who plans to be a Methodist minister someday. She has had some challenges in her life that would knock so many off their feet. She has learned from all her struggles and uses it to help others. She lost her brother (who was her best friend), her only sibling, her hero. She misses him everyday, but she vows to honor his memory. She is an amazing person.

Mallory uses her story to help and encourage young people, to raise awareness and money for cancer research, and to keep Ryan’s story alive. I am always impressed when I hear her talk, because I could never do what she does. She is my hero. She is a small, quiet young lady who will make a difference with her life. I know that wherever she lands in her life, the world around her will be better for her having been there. I thank God everyday for putting her into my life.

Dear God,
Help us all remember that we can all make a difference in our world. Help us each to step out of our comfort zone to help those who need it most. Thank you for all those wonderful people in this world who are already doing so much. And dear God, please watch over Mallory. I ask that you give her peace, joy and happiness in her life.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

