What is a family?

Tonight at dinner I talked to a man who is the father of one of my college friends. I lost contact with my friend right after I left Iowa State, nearly 30 years ago. Back then we didn’t have email, Facebook and cell phones, so it wasn’t as easy to stay in touch. Our lives went in different directions, and I never saw him again. When I saw his dad, I was anxious to hear about his life and find a way to be back in contact with him. The conversation didn’t go as I had hoped.

My friends dad talked highly of his son. He told me about his success in business, and his beautiful family. He said he thought they were all doing well, but he wasn’t positive. They had a fight 6 years ago and hadn’t spoken since. He got choked up, and walked away. I was heart broken.

I have told you before that I come from a large family. We are a strange bunch, but they are my family. They are the ones that have supported and carried me through the tough times. We have laughed, cried, celebrated, and fought. We know each others strengths and weaknesses. We all have a weird sense of humor. We have similarities and vast differences. But through it all, God put us together for a reason and I can’t imagine my life without them. They are the ones that I first thank Him for every night.

Tonight I pray that you each take time to appreciate those people around you that are your family. I hope that you are lucky enough to have people in your life that are as special to you as my family is to me.

Dear God,
Too often we say or do things we shouldn’t, and hurt the ones that are the most important to us. Help us to heal those relationships that we have damaged, through hurtful words and actions. Help us to forgive those who have hurt us and to seek forgiveness from those we have hurt. Our time here is limited, and I pray that we all can aim to find peace.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

