What do you collect?

Today I was looking around my house, and was overwhelmed with how much “stuff” we have. Some of our things have sentimental value, and I would be disappointed if we lost them. But, we have way too much stuff that I feel like we just have so that I have more to dust. It is all just things, objects we have acquired, either buying what we think we need or given as a gift. Things that we could live without, and much of which we probably wouldn’t miss.

Why do we all think that there are “things” that will bring us joy or contentment by owning them?

Everyone collects something. Some collect for the pure pleasure while others collect as an investment method. Most of us started as kids, collecting coins, stamps, or baseball cards. As we aged we may have moved on to things of more value or things that are more elusive. Still, we search for the pleasure of trying to own something special. But do those things really bring value to our life? Once the collection is complete, are we satisfied or do we just look to start a new collection?

Happiness resides not in possessions, and not in gold, happiness dwells in the soul. Democritus

Today, I am going to resolve to find a better way to live, than to collect more stuff.  I am going to start spending my time and energy to make the world a better place.  I am going to find more value in the people in my life.  I am going to be happy with we already have in our lives.

Dear God,
I have been blessed with a very good life. I need to learn to be happy with is already in my life, and stop looking to try to improve my life with possessions. Thank you for giving me what I need and help me to make sure everyone around me has what they need as well. Forgive me when I am not as thankful as I should be.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

