Our daily chores

Did you ever notice that there are some chores that are only noticed if you don’t do them?

Things like weeding, dusting and vacuuming are only noticeable when they aren’t done. You don’t look at your friends garden and say “what a wonderful job of weeding!” You don’t enter a friends house and announce “You did a great job of dusting today.”  Some things you only notice when they aren’t done.

I feel that way about talking to God.  On days when I am not in communion with Him, I notice things don’t feel right.  My day feels a little out off kilter.   I feel like I have forgotten something, and I have.  I have forgotten to go to God. This blog is my way to remind myself to spend time with God. To spend time listening to Him. To spend time praying for all the people in my life.

“Prayer is not asking. It is a longing of the soul. It is daily admission of one’s weakness. It is better in prayer to have a heart without words than words without a heart.” Mahatma Gandhi

So today I am reminding us all to open our heart to God. Going to God in prayer is something that needs to be a daily activity without being a chore. We should put God first, not go to him when we are in need or just when we find time. When we forget to put God first, the rest of our life shows it.

Dear God,
Please forgive us when we try to squeeze you into the most convenient time of our day. We know you have given us all we have, and we should be putting you first. Sometimes we forget. Thank you for being patient with us, loving us, and being there when we need you to hear us.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

