Memories.

How well do you remember events? Are you one of those people who can remember every detail of a vacation? Or are you more like me, struggling to remember where your last vacation was? Do you recall names easily or run through a list before you find the right one? Is you memory bank full of vivid details or does it look like a kindergarten sketch pad?

Why do some memories linger and some fade so easily?

We all have events in our lives that stand out in our memories. Whether they are good or bad, some memories stick with us better than others. For example, I remember very vividly the night Kirby proposed to me, the evening of our wedding, and the days that our beautiful children were born. I can tell you what I was wearing the day the doctor called to tell me they found a mass on Ryan’s brain and what Ryan’s face looked like when he was told there was nothing more they could do to stop his cancer. And I remember what I was doing on Sept. 11, 2001 when I heard evil had taken control of the airspace over the United States.

I had a cold that day, so I was still in my pj’s when Kirby called and told me to turn on the TV. I was watching coverage of the first plane hitting, when the plane hit the second tower. I laid in bed crying as I watched the coverage. I was filled with fear and sadness, wondering what the future held. People were dying, right there on live TV and I didn’t know what to do.

There are people dying every day. It is just a part of life. Most are remembered in some way by those who knew them. Some are just gone and never heard from. And some, like those that died on that horrible day, are mourned and remembered by an entire country. Some of the people that were lost that day were just in the wrong place at the wrong time, while others were brave souls that ran into the danger in hopes of helping. I pray that they are all at peace, and sitting at the side of God. I pray they felt no pain and that their loved ones have also found peace. I pray that we never have to feel that fear again.

For those of us old enough to remember that day, there will most likely be a point in the day tomorrow when we will stop and think about what happened 12 years ago. I hope you join me in taking a moment and praying for those who were lost that day. Then, I plan to celebrate life. I will do something to honor those souls by not letting fear and evil consume my thoughts. I will not give evil the satisfaction of ruining another day for me. Tomorrow is going to be about life, not death.

Dear God,
When we give in to fear, evil wins. Help us to be stronger in faith, so that we can create a better world for our children. I know that tomorrow will be a difficult day for many, the anniversary of their loss. I pray that they feel your loving arms and calming presence. I pray for the day when we all live in peace without any fear, at your side, in your kingdom.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

