A rose by any other name is still a rose.

So I decided to get off my “pity-pot” and write something a little more inspirational. It is too beautiful of a day to spend it feeling sorry for myself.

I told you in some earlier posts that I like to garden. I love flowers, any and all flowers. I love them in all colors, shapes and sizes. I love flowers so much that I often don’t know everything that I have planted in my gardens. What that confusion leads to is some very well maintained weeds growing among my perennials.

Every year, I add more flowers to my gardens. And, every year I have things coming up that I can’t identify. So I nurture it all and wait to see what blooms. This year, I even had some very tall weeds that are staked to keep from falling over. At least my weeds are well watered and standing tall.

That all happens because I don’t want to accidently pull or kill some beautiful flower. When those first green leaves are struggling to push through the dirt, I want to encourage it to do its best. I want to cheer it on, mother it, care for it, and see what it becomes.

What is a weed? A plant whose virtues have never been discovered. Ralph Waldo Emerson

I don’t need to now tell you the similarities to life. I will just say that everyone deserves to be nurtured and given a chance. Some of those weeds, I still haven’t pulled. I am still enjoying their blooms.

Dear God,
Thank you for this beautiful earth. Thank you for the flowers that we intentionally grow, and for the ones that grow so carefree we consider them weeds. Help us to remember to nurture them all.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

