Another Monday….

Anyone who knows me well, knows that I don’t like housework. In fact, I despise it. Dusting, vacuuming, dishes…. They all annoy me. I don’t like to do them, so I avoid them as long as I can. But every Monday, I look around the house and try to get motivated to clean. I don’t know what it is about Monday that makes me feel that way. The feeling usually subsides by Monday evening though.

Many people feel that way about Mondays. The weekend is over and it is time to get back to work or school. Time to put fun aside and do the business of life. Time for us to do our chores.

Have you ever thought about it from the other side? Have you ever thought about how many people only dream of the responsibilities that we so often dread and try to avoid?

So today instead of complaining about housework, I will be happy there is a house that needs cleaning. Dirty dishes mean that we have food to eat. Loads of laundry means we have clothes to wear. Grocery shopping means we can afford what we need. My daughters messy room means that she is still here to enjoy. If I have to vacuum, it just means that I have the physical abilities to do it. A dirty house means there has been family here to enjoy life.

If you didn’t want to go to work today, remember how many people are out of work and would trade places with you.

Dear God,
Too often we take for granted what we have in front of us. We complain about things we should be grateful for. We avoid work that we should be thankful we are able to do. Forgive us for not seeing the blessings before us. Forgive us for not being satisfied with what we already have.
In your name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Monday….

  1. Jim Pender says:

    Amen to that. We are so blessed. My wife and I help refugees from Burma. It is ironic how little they have and how deep their faith is in God. Saturday I was getting my oil changed and I noticed a young man wearing a shirt that said “I trust God” with a heart symbol and below that the words “I love Kachin.”

    This young man is obviously a refugee from Burma who relocated thousands of miles to Des Moines Iowa to escape persecutation. And he still loves and trusts God. Makes me ashamed that I complain about anything.

Leave a Reply

