What is faith?

A few days ago I ran across Ryan’s faith statement from his confirmation in May 2008.

If you believe in God, He is always with you. No matter what happens in your life, through the high and the low, good and bad, God is always right by your side. If you carry him in your heart, He is there to hold you, help you and guide you. You are never alone.Ryan Davidson

I am always inspired by those words, written by a 15 year old, less than a year before he passed away. He was in the battle for his life, and he was able to trust in God. He was just a kid, and yet he knew he should trust his life to God. He was going to meet God soon, and he was comfortable with that.

Do you have that kind of faith? Do you live with that kind of knowledge? Would you have that kind of strength and courage at the time in your life when it mattered most?

I have told you before that I have never strayed from my faith. Through all of life’s struggles, I have always known God was there. But I have to admit, I have never felt the kind of total devotion to God that those words convey. I find it easier to go to God in thanksgiving for the good things, than to go to Him for help during the bad times in my life. I go to Him to pray for others when they are in pain, but carry my own pain without taking it to Him. That is something I need to work on.

Today, I pray that you all feel God with you. I pray you know He is next to, waiting for you to ask for His help. I pray that we all have the kind of faith that Ryan tried to teach us.

Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

