Are you adventurous?

On this beautiful Thursday, it is very easy for me to know what I am thankful for, this mornings rain.  I even like the thunder and lightening.  It made me want to stay in bed and watch TV all day.  I can’t say that the dogs felt the same way.  They barked, cried and hid under the bed.  They don’t like the sound of thunder, it scares them because they don’t know what it is.

 We all have a fear of the unknown what one does with that fear will make all the difference in the world.  — Lillian Russell

When I face something unknown, I tend to be like the dogs.  I am more likely to hide under the bed than to face it head on.   I have always been afraid of unfamiliar situations, I get very uncomfortable if I am alone in a place I have never been, and I almost refuse to go into a room of full of strangers.  Like most people, I find comfort in familiarity.

But, what might I be missing by not venturing into the unknown?  By staying where I am safe and most comfortable, I am not only avoiding  my fear, I am also avoiding adventure.  I know that by stepping out of my comfort zone and trying new things, I am more likely to fall but I am also more like to soar.  I might make a bad impression or I might make a new friend.  I may be scared or I may have the time of my life.  I guess I will never know until I try.

So today, I am thankful for the rain that nourished the earth, as well as my soul.

Dear God,
Thank you for this mornings wonderful rain, the ground was so very happy to feel is fall. Please help me to step out of my comfort zone and better enjoy this beautiful world you have given us. Help me to rediscover a spirit of adventure and curiosity.
In your name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

