Do you find friends or do you make friends?

There is a small picture hanging in the hall outside our bedroom. I see it every morning as I start my day. It is small enough that you might not notice it among all the photos. It says:

Some people come into our live and quickly go. Others stay a while, make footprints on our hearts and we are never, ever the same.  
Author Unknown

I got it to hang with our pictures, because we have moved a couple times and there are people that we have known that we may never see again. But thankfully, there are also many people who have come into our lives and stayed. There are people that have been a part of my life at some point, that I may not even remember their name. They are friends that have come and gone, that have tumbled through my world without leaving a mark. Then, there are those whose very presence have changed me forever.

I wish I could list each of you that mean so very much to me. However, I am lucky enough to say that there are just too many of you. I have a friend that is part of my very earliest memories, who is still a part of my life. I have known Anita since I was about 3 and her friendship is the one that first taught me what a friend is. I have other friends from growing up, that I met in elementary, middle or high school. I have friends all over the country that I met in college. I have friends in Des Moines and DC, from our time living there. And I have many friends here in Sun Prairie. I have never been one to make friends easily, but when I look back on my life, I have made more than I ever thought possible. I have met more amazing people than one person should be allowed. I have been blessed beyond my wildest dreams.

I look at that little sign each day, and wonder on who’s life I might leave a footprint. I wonder what I could do today to leave a positive mark on someone’s heart. I wonder if I have ever changed someone’s life for the better. I wonder who out there still remembers my name.

Today, I hope you make a positive mark on someone’s life. It doesn’t have to be anything grand, you can leave a mark with a very light touch. Some of the footprints on my heart were left when a friend just showed up and listened to me talk about Ryan, or just sat with me while I cried.

Dear God,
Today I am remembering all my friends. I am listing them in my heart and thanking you for each and every one of them. You have brought many wonderful people into my life, and I am so very grateful for all of them. Help me to be an equally good friend to each of them. Help me to be there when they need me, like they have been there for me. I hope they know how much I cherish them.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

