Who do you consider your friends? I hope I am one!

Hello. My name is Amy and I am addicted to Facebook.

Our internet at home has been down for a couple days. It has been driving me nuts. I feel like I was dropped back into the 90’s and I don’t like it. I have tried to fix it. I have “talked” to the computerized help at Charter, and I can’t get it to work. I haven’t felt well, so my patience is thin and I just couldn’t do it. So here I sit, at Beans and Cream, just so I could get free internet. And I don’t really like coffee.

But, back to Facebook.

I am addicted to Facebook for a couple reasons:
1. I like to creep around on my friends pages and see what they are doing.
2. I have a few games that I really “enjoy” playing. (They actually drive me crazy, but that is for another day.)
3. I get to see pictures of everyone’s kids.
4. And my favorite thing, I have been able to stay in touch with so many people.

Just this week I have been back in contact with 2 people from college, one of whom I haven’t talked to in over 30 years. And then, out of the blue, there is a friend request. What I wonderful surprise.  With a click of a button, the space and years between us seem to disappear. I feel like I am 20 years old again, and we just pick up where we left off. I have been blessed to have had so many friends in my lifetime. Such wonderful and amazing people.

Monday evening I was on campus and listened to a motivational speaker, it was very entertaining. At one point he said something that has stuck with me. He said that he had read a USA Today story where 1 in 4 respondents to a survey said they didn’t feel they had anyone in their life they could confide in.

25% of the people questioned said they didn’t have anyone to talk to!

That is such a sad statistic. I can understand that feeling though. I told you in an earlier post that there was a time in my life where I didn’t feel like I really had any friends. I had a lot of acquaintances, but no one I considered a real friend. No one that I thought considered me a real friend.  But then God, in His infinite wisdom, proved my wrong. When I most needed friends, they were there. I was surrounded the whole time by people who cared about me, and I just hadn’t seen them.

We are all so much together, but we are all dying of loneliness.Albert Schweitzer

I hope and pray that you are not one of those 25% that feel you have no one to talk to.  I hope that you are surrounded by so many people that care about you.  I hope you are loved and that you have many that you love in return.  However, if you so ever need someone to talk to, please know that I am here.  I am only as far away as your phone.  If you are close we can meet for coffee (I am already sitting at the perfect table).  If you aren’t close, we can just thank God for the phone and internet.

Today, I challenge us all to reach out to someone who might be lonely.

Dear God,
We all have times where we need someone to talk with. Please help us to remember that you are always there to listen. And please help those who are alone to find someone to talk to. We know that you love us, that you are always with us, and that someday we will be with you. Until that day, may we find others here to share our life with.
In your name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

