The beautiful sounds of summer

I absolutely love the weather we have been having this summer. If I could bottle it, today would be an ideal day. Temperatures in the mid 70’s during the day and low 50’s at night. I enjoy having the windows open with the fresh air blowing through. And although I am glad we have 4 seasons, when the dead of winter is here, today is a day I will unlock from my memory bank to get me through a bleak day.

One of the greatest things about having the windows open is listening to the sounds that summer makes. Falling asleep I listen to the katydids, crickets and locusts. The silence of the night is occasionally broken by the wind in the trees or the sound of distant thunder. At dawn I wake to hear the birds calling to wake up the sun. Some mornings start with the song of lawnmowers and the smell of fresh cut grass. Even my dogs barking at the rabbits becomes part of the chorus. All those are things that, even when my eyes are closed, remind me of the season of summer.

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.”
― John Steinbeck, Travels with Charley: In Search of America

All too soon, summer will end and the next chapter will begin. Leaves will change, birds will start to fly south, and the earth will prepare for the ravage of winter. Until then, I will occasionally close my eyes and just listen to summer.  I hope you do too.

Dear and precious God,
In this part of the world, we give thanks for the four seasons, each with its joys and challenges. As we travel through life we are reminded of the unique beauty of each day, and we are given so much to be thankful for. Forgive us when we take it all for granted, when we shake our fists at the sky when the day isn’t kind, or when we abuse and misuse this earth we know as home. It is only temporary, soon we will be invited to join you and see the true beauty only known in Heaven.
In your name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

