Do have what you love or do you love what you have?

Do you compare your life to the lives of others? Admit it, because we all do. We all compare our lives to those who are richer, smarter, prettier, more famous. We look at our neighbors and wonder why they have more than us. How can they afford such a big house and a vacation home and a boat? Why don’t we have as much as them?

We never really know what their life is like. We also forget that there are some that envy what we have.  They would like to have our job, live on our block, or enjoy our freedoms.

When I hear somebody sigh that life is hard, I am always tempted to ask, ‘Compared to what?'”Sydeny J. Harris

There are no guarantees in life.   It isn’t usually fair and we can’t expect to get what we deserve.   We all need reminders that life is pretty good.  The view from our seat is unique and we need to learn to appreciate it.   Whatever “it” is.

Today I am going to take a look around and take in my view again, maybe with a fresh eye.  I am going to enjoy what is there and stop worrying about what isn’t.  I am going to thank God for everything, and I am going to love what I already have. I am going to remember that I am safe, free and comfortable. I wish the same for you.

Dear God,
Thank you for this beautiful, rainy day. Help me to appreciate what I already have and stop hoping for more. I know that you give us all that we need, and I need to remember that there are things that I only think I need. I have a wonderful family, wonderful friends, and a beautiful home.
In the name of your Son,
Amen.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

