Dancing through life.

Every day brings a chance for you to draw in a breath, kick off your shoes, and dance.”     Oprah Winfrey

Do you ever watch The Ellen DeGeneres Show? During every show, Ellen dances through the audience. She loves to dance and it makes her and the audience smile. It is a way for her to share her joy. She is very funny, but dancing is just a different way to share her happiness. It always looks so fun.

I love to dance too. I am not as talented as Ellen, but I still enjoy doing it. I have learned that I don’t have to worry about what I look like, because chances are that no one is watching. Every one else is too worried about how they look dancing. Unless I really make a fool of myself, I just blend into the crowd as I bite my lip and shuffle my feet.

When opportunity presents itself, we all need to be willing to stand up, take a breath, and commit ourselves wholeheartedly, even at the risk of looking a little silly. Life is too short to stand on the sidelines and worry about how we look. It is time to jump up and dance.

Today, I hope you dance. Whether you dance alone or with the one you love, turn on some music and find a reason to twirl, jive, boogie…. Whatever you do on the dance floor, just dance without worrying if someone is watching. I hope you have a great weekend.

Dear God,
Thank you again for the gift of music and the ability to dance. Help us to remember that there is so much to celebrate and dancing is a great way to do it.
In your name.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dancing through life.

  1. Renee says:

    “You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,
    Love like you’ll never be hurt,
    Sing like there’s nobody listening,
    And live like it’s heaven on earth.” – William Purkey

Leave a Reply

