Music sings to my soul.

Have you ever turned on the radio and the perfect song comes on? For whatever reason, it feels like that song was played at that moment, just for you. If you were at Ryan’s funeral, you know that happened to me years ago.

The day of Ryan’s first surgery was (understandably) a very long day. It was Kirby’s turn to spend the night, so I got in the car to drive home. The radio was on from the day before and the first song that came on was “God is in Control”. Here are some of the lyrics:

This is no time for fear
This is the time for faith and determination

Don’t lose the vision here carried away by emotion
Hold on to all that you hide in your heart
There is one thing that has always been true
It holds the world together
God is in control
We believe that His children will not be forsaken
God is in control
.
.
He has never let you down
Why start to worry now?
He is still the Lord of all we see
And He is still the loving Father
.
Watching over you, watching over me
Every little sparrow, every little king,
Oh, every little king

The song spoke to me about Ryan. God was in control of what was going to happen. Regardless of the outcome, God was watching out for Ryan, for all of us.  We just needed faith and determination.  We just needed to rely on God.

His children will not be forsaken.

I had already gotten the message as the song was ending.  Then came the line:

Every little king.

The name Ryan means “little king”. When I heard “every little king” in the song, I nearly lost it. It was a message to me. My little king was going to be okay.

So today, I hope you hear a message from God.  Whether it is in a song, a baby’s voice, a singing bird or the beauty of a flower.  I hope you listen for God and know that he is speaking to you.

Dear God,
Thank you for speaking to us through the beauty of music. Thank you for speaking to us in so many different ways. Help us to listen for that quiet voice reminding us that You are in control and we will not be forsaken.
In your wonderful and holy name I pray,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

