The Bible

Most of my life I have been involved in church. I have taught and been taught many of the stories of the Bible. Between Sunday school, Vacation Bible School and Bible story hours, I have done my share of teaching Christian Education to children. I enjoy reading the stories and I enjoy discussing them with kids. The simple way that kids try to interpret what they hear is very interesting.

I believe what I read in the bible.

I believe that God created Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden. I believe that Joseph and his brothers were the epitome of sibling rivalry, that Noah built an ark to survive a flood and that Jesus was born to a virgin. I believe that he died on a cross and rose from the dead 3 days later. I believe that some day he will come back to save the world again. Some would read that and say of course, and some would disagree with me.

So is the bible history or fictitious stories?  However you interpret what you read, the important thing is to read it.

The Bible is a incredible collection of books. There are many wonderful stories.  We have a way to learn about God and Jesus, and so much more. We learn about life, salvation, spiritual growth, comfort and hope.  We learn that there is so much more than what we experience in our little part of the world.

So today, I challenge you to open your bible and read.  I challenge you to make the bible a part of your every day life.

Dear God,
We spend time wondering where you are and how we can find you. We forget that we have a book that gives us so many answers. Thank you for sending these words down to teach us and guide us. Help us to look for you and to follow your lead.
In your name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

