Jesus

Over the years I have taught church school to many different age groups. Regardless of the age, my favorite lesson starts with this question:

Would you recognize Jesus if he walked into our church?

I love the looks and responses I would get, especially from the very young kids. They would look at me and say things like
“Are you kidding me?”
“Of course. Wouldn’t you?”
“He would be the only one here in a robe and sandals.”
“We see his picture out in the hall every week.”

Older kids would say some of the same things, but knew that I was going to challenge their answers. It was always a great discussion about what Jesus would look like if he lived in modern times. What would his “job” be? Would he still be a carpenter? Would he be dressed in jeans?

So, would you recognize Jesus if you saw him?

With todays technology could you imagine some of the YouTube videos?
“Check out this dude walking on water!”
Do you think Jesus would have a Facebook page? Or a twitter account? Would you “follow” Jesus? Or would you be shouting “Crucify him”?

So today I challenge to look for Jesus. We all need to learn to treat everyone who crosses our path as if they are, after all:
“He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’” Matthew 25:35

Dear God,
Thank you for your Son, Jesus Christ. Thank for sending him to teach us how to live, how to love and how to worship you.
In His name,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

