Just another manic Monday.

Today I returned home from Des Moines. It is 320 miles, door to door. I couldn’t even begin to guess how many times I have made the trip in the 13 years we have lived in Wisconsin. It has been often enough that I pretty much go into auto-pilot and don’t think about the drive. Today, however, I decided to change that.

Today, I turned off the radio (to give my beautiful singing voice a break) and really looked at my surroundings. I decided to not think about the destination, but instead to concentrate on the trip. It was amazing how different my day was. Even though I have been on these same roads countless times, I saw so many things I had never noticed before. I saw a beautiful church near Dubuque. There were several interesting farm buildings. I saw a dog, laying under a tree, watching the cars go by. I saw horses, cows, a rabbit, a squirrel, a chipmunk, 3 hawks and lots of birds. I also saw license plates from 10 different states.

As I passed cars, I wondered where they were going. Were they headed home or on vacation? Were they enjoying their travels? Had they taken time to notice the others along their route?

With each car, I decided that I would take a moment and pray for them. I prayed that their trip would be safe and enjoyable. I prayed that they were happy and healthy. And I prayed that they knew the love of God.

A funny thing happened on this trip. I was alone in the car, but I never felt that way. I felt a great deal of peace as I drove. I felt like I was really conversing with God. Wouldn’t this world be wonderful if we all found time everyday to pray for the strangers that cross our path.

Today, I hope that you feel peace. I hope that you find time to pray for someone else. And I hope that you know that I have been praying for you.

Dear God.
Thank you for bringing me safely home again. Thank you for those people who are reading this prayer. I ask that you give them peace and that they feel your love today, and everyday.
In Jesus name.
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just another manic Monday.

  1. Amy-you amaze me. You say so many things that I am thinking. Thank you for writing your blog. I loved watching you play with Thomas!!!!!

  2. Chris (Warnke) Eckardt says:

    This is beautiful Amy! Thank you!

  3. Joann Schlemmer says:

    Thank you, Amy, for describing your trip home. It was so good to see you at church Sunday. I’m so glad your mom told me how to get to your blog.

Leave a Reply

