Nothing is more beautiful than a baby.

If you know me at all, you know that I am CRAZY about babies. I am absolutely in love with babies, any babies. I don’t even have to know the family. If I see a baby, I can’t help but do what I can to take a look. If it is a stranger in the store, I try to contain myself. But, if there is a baby at church, it is all I can do not to get my hands on it. I love the way they smell (usually!), I love the feel of their soft little face, I love to count their little fingers…

For a couple years I was in a job where I took pictures of newborns at 3 different hospitals. It was like a dream come true. I got to spend my days holding babies! Someone once asked me:

“Have you ever seen an ugly baby?”

I had to stop and think about it. I had seen a lot of different babies. Small, big, brown, white, lots of hair, no hair, deformities, birthmarks… But no, I had never seen an ugly baby. I have seen some babies that are more beautiful than others, and none will ever be as beautiful as the 2 I gave birth to, but I have never seen an ugly baby.

The babies that I handled were all newborns, usually 24-48 hours old. They were a miracle that I got to hold in my hands. Just days before they were still part of their mother and now they were their own little person. They were only just learning to breathe and eat. They hadn’t begun to show their personality yet. They were just a tiny miracle sent to give us hope. Hope for a future.

If you are lucky enough to see a baby today, I hope you see the beauty in that little miracle. I hope you take a moment to thank God for that symbol of hope for tomorrow. I hope you try to make the world a better place for that baby.

Gracious God,
It is so easy to find beauty in this world if we just slow down and look for it. Thank you for the miracle of each baby. They may not be perfect, but we know that you don’t make mistakes, so they are each beautiful in their own unique way. Help us to more fully appreciate that beauty.
It is your name we pray,
Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

